Pirate's Alley Faulkner SocietyWords & Music


A Legend In His/Her Own Time

In 1996, the Pirate’s Alley Faulkner Society, created a special award to be given to men and women for excellence in literature,  journalism, music, art, and community service, or philanthropy. The award is given to men and women who qualify as legends in their own time.

Rosemary James, Co-Founder of the Faulkner Society, took the name from one of her former journalistic colleagues, the late Jack Dempsey, a legendary police reporter for the old  New Orleans afternoon newspaper, The States-Item.  Dempsey sent his police report columns from police headquarters by teletype.  He always signed his dispatches:
A Legend In His Own Time

The awards are given annually in memory of Jack Dempsey, other memorable guys and dolls of reporting, and the great 20th Century heyday of journalism.There is no specified number of awardees each year, although at least one award forLiterature
is given. 

The first ALIHOT Award for Literature was presented to Mississippi author Eudora Welty for her impressive body of fiction and non-fiction.  That same year, ALIHOT Awards were presented to Adelaide Wisdom Benjamin for Philanthropy in the Arts andto artist Wade Welch for cartoon satire. 

Shelby Foote, Literature
Yevgeny Yevtushenko, Poetry
Delta Burke & Gerald McRaney, Performance Art,
Odetta, Music
Lyle Bonge, Art Photography
Ian Arnoff, Eamon Kelly, Philanthropy
Fredrick Barton & Jay Weigel, Words & Music, A House Divided
Lolita Davidovich, Ron Shelton, Performance Art
Sandra Russell Clark, Art Photography
Dorothy Crosby & Lynn Crosby Gammill, Philanthropy


Lawrence Ferlinghetti, Poetry
Iris Kelso, Don Lee Keith, Journalism
Thomas C. Keller, Philanthropy 

Rodger Kamenetz, LiteratureArthur Samuelson, Literary Publishing
Paul Prudhomme, Culinary ArtsJulie Grant Meyer, Philanthropy

Dalt Wonk, Drama
Susan Spicer, Culinary Arts
Dan Ragland, Photographic Art
Freda Lupin, Contributions to the Arts

Elizabeth Spencer, Literature: Fiction
C. D. Wright, Literature:Poetry
Deborah Luster: Art Photography
Earl King, Music: Blues
Leah Chase, Culinary Arts, Civic Service 


Valerie Martin, Literature
Herman Leonard, Raymond Meeks, Art Photography
Ellis Marsalis, Music: Jazz
William Farlowe, Philanthropy

Robert Olen Butler, Literature: Fiction and Non-Fiction
Stanley Crouch & Irvin Mayfield, Words & Music: The Wild Palms Suite
Dow Mossman, Mark Moskowitz, Documentary Cinema
Gérard Lange, Art Photography
H. Paul St. Martin, Michael X. St. Martin, Philanthropy


Katrina, no awards presented


Shirley Ann Grau, Literature: Fiction
Michael White, Music
John Besh, Culinary Arts
Thomas Neff, Art Photography
Bertie Deming Smith, Philanthropy


Matthew Bruccoli, Biography
Marie Arana, Michael Dirda, Jonathan Yardley, Literary Criticism
Josephine Sacabo, Art Photography
Nancy Moss, Contributions to the Arts


Roy Blount, Jr., Literature: Non-Fiction
Michael Malone: Literature: Fiction
Ted Turner, Environmental Philanthropy

John Biguenet, Literature
Ron Pincus, Civic Service


Tim O’Brien, Rebecca Wells, Literature
Arthur Q. Davis, FAIA, Civic Service
E. Quinn Peeper, Music, Civic Service


Armando Valladares, Human Rights Advocacy
Oscar Hijuelos, Literature
Justin Torres, First Fiction
Nilo Cruz, Drama
Randy Fertel, Narrative Non-Fiction

Pirate’s Alley Faulkner Society
624 Pirate’s Alley, New Orleans, LA 70116
phone: (504) 586-1609 or (504) 525-5615
fax: (504) 522-9725
Join Our E-News List